Internal Audit Committee

The Internal Audit Committee is a key committee supporting the Deputy Minister Committee. It is responsible to monitor the governance, control and risk management systems in the Alberta government and exercises its judgment to ensure an appropriate balance is struck between managing the risks to the government and the costs of doing so.

The Internal Audit Committee is responsible for oversight of Corporate Internal Audit Services.

The mandate of Internal Audit Committee is set out in the charter approved by the Deputy Minister of Executive Council who chairs this Committee.


The Internal Audit Committee has eight members, including the Chair:

  • Deputy Minister, Executive Council (Chair)
  • Deputy Minister, Treasury Board and Finance (Vice-Chair)
  • Deputy Minister, Leadership and Talent Development, Public Service Commissioner
  • Deputy Minister, Human Services
  • Deputy Minister, Innovation and Advanced Education
  • Deputy Minister, Municipal Affairs
  • Two Public Members

Back to Top

Public Members

Shirley Raab is an FCA and is currently a principal with Accent Strategy Inc.

Shirley’s experience is gained from serving on boards within the private, public sector and in the not for profit sectors, including: Chair, Audit Committee, Province of Saskatchewan, Chair, Canadian Mental Health Association, Regina, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Saskatchewan- Council member; Chair, Discipline Committee, member - Professional Conduct, Aboriginal Initiatives, Director, Canadian Blood Services (CBS); served on the Pension, Talent Management,  Science, Safety and Ethics, Audit and Governance Committees  Director, Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association; member of Nominations Committee

Shirley also has executive level experience in the private and public sectors, including: President & CEO  - GMS Insurance Inc. & Group Medical Services, Chief Executive Officer & Chief Financial Officer  - South Central Health District   and Vice President, Finance & Administration Saskatchewan Property Management Corporation.

Leo Kelly qualified as a CA in 1975 and was awarded the FCA (Fellow, Chartered Accountant) in 1997. He served as President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta from 1997 to 1998. Leo qualified as a Certified Fraud Examiner in 1997, and is one of only 250 Investigative and Forensic Accounting Specialists in Canada. Leo was a member of the Province of Alberta 's Tax Review Committee in 1998. He is a partner in Kelly & Creaghan CAs in Calgary , specializing in investigative and forensic accounting, accounting and auditing income tax, litigation support services and professional conduct matters.

Back to Top

Term of Office

A full term of office for external and the three additional Deputy Minister members is three years (“full term”). An external or additional Deputy Minister member shall normally serve no more than two full terms. However, to ensure continuity, appointment of members may be staggered and an external member may be appointed to a third term of up to two years.

Back to Top

Reporting to the Deputy Minister Committee

As a subcommittee of the Deputy Minister Committee, the Internal Audit Committee reports to the Deputy Minister Committee on significant issues and trends identified by Corporate Internal Audit Services and other audit-related matters.

Back to Top


Page last updated:  August 23, 2017