Go to Home Page

Tax and Revenue Administration
Fuel Tax Act
Special Notice Vol. 1 No. 34

Released: March 7, 2013
Produced by: Alberta Treasury Board and Finance, Tax and Revenue Administration
For more information: tra.revenue@gov.ab.ca

Vol. 1 No. 34 / March 2013


NOTE: This special notice is intended to explain legislation and provide specific information. Every effort has been made to ensure the contents are accurate. However, if a discrepancy should occur in interpretation between this special notice and governing legislation, the legislation takes precedence.

Effective 3:15 p.m. on Thursday March 7, 2013, the Government of Alberta will no longer be funding the Alberta Farm Fuel Distribution Allowance (AFFDA) portion of the Alberta Farm Fuel Benefit program. As such, fuel suppliers will no longer be reimbursed for the 6-cent-per-litre discount on marked diesel, marked renewable diesel or heating fuel. The discount agricultural producers receive on clear fuel where marked fuel is not reasonably available has also been discontinued.

Eligible agricultural producers who are participating in the Alberta Farm Fuel Benefit Program will continue to receive the 9-cent-per-litre provincial tax exemption on marked gasoline and diesel.

The administration and application process for the Farm Fuel Benefit Program remain unchanged. Agricultural producers will retain their farm fuel numbers and farm plates as long as they continue to be eligible. Eligibility must be renewed every three years. For information on the Alberta Farm Fuel Benefit program, refer to the Alberta Agriculture and Forestry website. You may also contact Alberta Agriculture and Forestry by email at AFFB@gov.ab.ca, or call 780-427-5921 (toll-free by first dialing 310-0000).

Click here for Questions and Answers relating to the change, which was announced in Budget 2013. If the questions and answers do not address your concerns on the processing of AFFDA, you may email your questions to TBF.fueltax@gov.ab.ca.

Go to Top of Current Document

Go to Index

Go to Government of Alberta Home Page

| Using this Site | Privacy | Accessibility

Contact Us | Search | Site Map | Links

Copyright and Disclaimer

Copyright Government of Alberta

Go to Government of Alberta Home Page